ISU Announces 2014-15 Grand Prix Assignments

ISU 20logo 20colThe World’s top figure skaters including World, Four Continents, European and World Junior Champions and medalists will compete in the ISU Grand Prix of Figure Skating Series 2014/15. There are eight entries available at each of the six Grand Prix events for a total of 48 roster slots.  

24 teams representing 11 countries are already assigned to Grand Prix series events with four remaining TBD slots available at Skate America, Lexus Cup of China, Trophee Bompard and NHK Trophy, which will be assigned at a later date by each event’s host nation.  The top six qualifiers will proceed to the Final in Barcelona, Spain, December 11 to 14, 2014. Spain will host the ISU Grand Prix of Figure Skating Final for the first time.

The skaters are seeded and invited to the six Grand Prix of Figure Skating events based on the results of the ISU World Figure Skating Championships 2014. In case of retirements or splits, the next highest ranked skaters/couples are moving up. Teams who have placed 1 to 6 in each of the four categories are seeded and assigned to two events. Teams who have placed 7-12 at the ISU World Championships 2014 are selected for two ISU Grand Prix of Figure Skating events, and skaters with a top 24 high seasons best score as well as those placed in the top 24 of the World Standings can also be invited. Medalists from the ISU World Junior Figure Skating Championships and the ISU Junior Grand Prix of Figure Skating Final gold medalists are guaranteed one spot.

In order for a skater/couple to be eligible to compete at a Grand Prix event, a minimum total score or minimum technical score must have been achieved in the previous or current season in an ISU event (GP, JGP, Championships, WTT or U.S. International Figure Skating Classic, Nebelhorn Trophy, Ondrej Nepala Trophy, Finlandia Trophy, Coupe de Nice). Exceptions apply to host country skaters, previously ranked skaters or split ranked couples who return with new partners. The minimum score for ice dancers for the 2014/15 season is 105.27.

Competitors collect points in their Grand Prix events towards the qualification for the Grand Prix Final. Ice dancers collect points up to 6th place and the points are awarded as follows.

1st place 15 points                 2nd place 13 points                3rd place 11 points
4th place 9 points                   5th place 7 points                   6th place 5 points

The Grand Prix series 2014/15 will feature 2014 World Champions Anna Cappellini & Luca Lanotte (ITA) as well as 2014 World silver medalists Kaitlyn Weaver & Andrew Poje (CAN) and 2013 World bronze medalists Ekaterina Bobrova & Dmitry Soloviev (RUS).  Also receiving assignments are 2014 Four Continents Champions Madison Hubbell & Zachary Donohue (USA) and two new Russian teams who switched partners after the 2013/14 season.  2014 Olympic bronze medalist Elena Ilinykh is now skating with Ruslan Zhiganshin while Ilinykh’s former partner, Nikita Katsalapov is now skating with Zhiganshin’s former partner, Victoria Sinitisina.  2014 World Junior Champions Kaitlin Hawayek & Jean-Luc Baker (USA), Elisabeth Paradis & Francois Xavier Ouellette (CAN) and Shiyue Wang & Xinyu Lu (CHN) will make their senior Grand Prix series debuts.  



To view the ISU’s press release and view the entries for all four disciplines, visit the ISU website